Planet Replay Forum Index Planet Replay
The Destination for ReplayTV Owners and TV Enthusiasts
Back to the home page
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   7 days of topics7 Days  30 days of topics30 Days  MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Should Laho offer dialup service

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Planet Replay Forum Index -> LaHo
View previous topic :: View next topic  

If LaHo offerred dialup service.. would you subscribe?
Yes.. pretty please!
50%
 50%  [ 2 ]
No thanks
50%
 50%  [ 2 ]
Total Votes : 4

Author Message
rmeden
Replay elitist
Replay elitist


Joined: 22 Jun 2007
Posts: 375

PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2015 4:25 pm    Post subject: Should Laho offer dialup service Reply with quote

I feel bad for folks with dialup unable to get guide data. I'm thinking about trying a U-Verse phone line to see if it will work to receive the dial-up calls through a FreeSCO gateway.

Is there interest?

I also asked at AVS.. please don't vote yes in both places!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RTV-or-No-TV
Replay user
Replay user


Joined: 28 Jul 2015
Posts: 69
Location: Monterey, Ca

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I still own a 3000. Its unused.
I dont understand why you cant take an old computer with a FAX /modem, and make a program that acts like the POT (dial tone and such) and provide the dial-up services, like the original service that collects the guide, sets the clock, and such. A phone line is laid between the 2000-3000 box. The old 2000-3000 call in, and get the line up as needed.


Last edited by RTV-or-No-TV on Fri Jul 31, 2015 6:45 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmeden
Replay elitist
Replay elitist


Joined: 22 Jun 2007
Posts: 375

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Short answer, you can. The procedure is even documented HERE

Depending on your modem type, you sometimes need voltage on the wire. The best way to achieve that is with a "Phone Line Simulator".

BTW, the acronym is POTS = Plain Old Telephone Service.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hdonzis
Planet Overlord


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Posts: 9021
Location: San Antonio, TX

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RTV-or-No-TV wrote:
I still own a 3000. Its unused.
I dont understand why you cant take an old computer with a FAX /modem, and make a program that acts like the POT (dial tone and such) and provides the dial-up services, like the original service that collects the guide, sets the clock, and such. A phone line is laid between the 2000-3000 box. The old 2000-3000 call in, and get the line up as needed.


In addition, there's a whole topic about it here: http://planetreplay.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=14654, with additional topics on Planet Replay if you search for them. And, you'll find additional information on AVSForum as well...

Henry
_________________
Here's my Poop (I know that's the old Poopli, but I like it that way!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrviper100
Replay newbie
Replay newbie


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2015 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would say no dialup. Just get a newer ReplayTV. They are cheap enough on ebay or craigslist.
_________________
ReplayTv 5040 with LaHo!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RTV-or-No-TV
Replay user
Replay user


Joined: 28 Jul 2015
Posts: 69
Location: Monterey, Ca

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2015 6:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know many here are savvy enough to know what POTS means. I also know some may not.
The main thing I noticed was the raticle video and audio quality improvement when I switched to the 4500.

Networked 4000-5500; Assuming they did not reset there unit like I did. Then its real pain to make it work again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Planet Replay Forum Index -> LaHo All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Planet Replay topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group